What this “Life” is about (I think)

Stuff of Life Word Cloud

Word Cloud Courtesy of Wordle.net

When I was thinking about what to call this blog “the stuff of life” popped into my head. I was thinking about life in all its forms, the good and the bad. I was thinking about the fact that “the stuff of life” is a familiar term that people have heard before. Maybe too often. I’m still not sure.

With that in mind I Googled the term and discovered a small handful of references. There is a book called “The Stuff of Life – A Graphic Guide to Genetics and DNA.”. A description of the book reads as follows:

“Let’s face it: From adenines to zygotes, from cytokinesis to parthenogenesis, even the basics of genetics can sound utterly alien. So who better than an alien to explain it all?”

Hmm. So the author of the book about human genetics is an alien? I’m not sure what to think about that.

I found another book called “The Stuff of Life” that was written by an interior designer. It  emphasizes how to properly display your stuff. In your home. That could come in handy sometime.

Another science book was “The Stuff of Life – Profiles of the Molecules That Make us Tick.”

There is also an article that was in the LA Times that is about how much Americans love to own stuff. It is true. We do love to own stuff. Then we need to buy a book to tell us how to display all of our stuff.

I’m not talking about zygotes or genetics or molecules here. I’m talking about the everyday experiences in life. Maybe great, maybe not so great, maybe sad or maybe funny. Let’s see where this goes.

 

Leave a Reply

